Philadelphia

IMG_8660

IMG_8661

11월 11일, 월요일이 Veteran’s Day로 휴일이라 우린 2박3일 여행을 떠나기로 했다. 우리집에서 3시간정도 걸리는 필라델피아. 토요일 아침, 설레는 맘으로 차에 올라 필라델피아로 출발~ ^^ 도착해서 처음으로 간 곳은 자유의 종 센터!

For Veteran’s Day weekend Jihye and I decided to head south this time to Philadelphia and Washington D.C. for the weekend. Philadelphia is a great city to visit, and with it being only 3 hours away, it’s a great little weekend getaway. Unfortunately, it was a great weekend for everyone else, too..and we ran into some pretty big lines.

IMG_8662

줄이 길었다. ㅜㅜ 사실 자유의 종은 유리창 밖에서도 보임 ㅋㅋㅋ 그래도 안에 들어가서 봐야지~ 하며 줄 서서 기다리고 있는데, 앞에 태극기가 눈에 띄었다. 반갑게 ㅋㅋㅋ

Jihye was very happy to see her country’s flag in a picture outside the Liberty Bell museum.

IMG_8664

IMG_8672

런던에서 만들어져 필라델피아에 도착 후 첫 타종 이후 금이 갔다는 자유의 종. 센터 안에는 자유의 종에 관련된 내용들이 전시되어 있었다.

The Liberty Bell is probably Philadephia’s main attraction. It was used as the bell for the old Philadelphia state house, which is now known as ‘Independence Hall’. It’s said that it was supposedly rung on July 4th 1776, hence giving it the name ‘Liberty Bell’. Many historians now dispute this. Nonetheless, the bell is still a symbol of liberty in the US and the world.

IMG_8670

IMG_8671

자유의 상징인 자유의 종. “모든 땅 위의 모든 사람들에게 자유를 공표하라” (Proclaim LIBERTY throughout all the land unto all the inhabitants thereof)라고 종에 새겨있다.

IMG_8678

IMG_8679

IMG_8680

조금 늦은 점심. 필라델피아에 왔으니 치즈 스테이크를 먹어줘야지 ㅋㅋㅋ 남편이 찾은 탑텐 레스토랑 중 한 곳에 다녀왔다. ㅋㅋ 맛있당~

We got real hungry after all that waiting in line so we HAD to go grab a Philly Cheesesteak! I looked up a top ten list and found Campo’s to be the closest restaurant to Independence Hall. Jihye and I got the works, which included onions, bell peppers and mushrooms.

IMG_8688

IMG_8691

Independence Square

A view of Independence Hall from the back side.

IMG_8696

IMG_8700

독립기념관 (Independence Hall) 1776년 7월 4일. 미국 독립 선언을 한 건물이다.

IMG_8722

IMG_8724_1

LOVE Park.

IMG_8730

IMG_8735

가는 길에 로댕 뮤지엄이 있었다. ‘생각하는 사람’ 따라하는 남편. 그치만 반대 손이라구!! ㅋㅋㅋ

A museum without walls.

IMG_8743

IMG_8746

‘록키’라는 권투영화에 나온 곳이라며 로렌이 데려온 곳이다. 권투선수가 이 계단을 오르내리며 훈련을 하는 장면이 있다는데 ㅋㅋ 그래서 그런지.. 여기 온 사람들이 다들 이 계단을 재빠르게 뛰어올라가드라 ㅋㅋㅋ

IMG_8751

나름 높은 곳에 올라오니 필라델피아가 한눈에 보이는게 너무 좋구나 :)

IMG_8760

빠밤빠~빠밤바~ (영화는 본 적 없는데, 배경음악은 너무 유명해서 한소절만 들어도 딱 아는 멜로디 ㅋㅋ)

It was quite a walk from Love park, but it was well worth getting an awesome glimpse of the Philadephia skyline and a picture of the Rocky statue!

IMG_8763

IMG_8764

사진에서 겨울냄새가 나는 것 같다.

The enormous Philadephia City Hall at night.

IMG_8782

IMG_8784

너무 귀여운 맥주잔 & 남편 ㅋㅋㅋ 저녁먹을 곳을 찾아 헤메이다 South st까지 오게 되었다.

The restaurants downtown were a little pricey, so we headed down to South Street for some barbeque at Percy’s.

IMG_8791

맛있는 저녁을 마지막으로, 필라델피아 여행은 여기서 끝! 내일은 워싱턴디씨로 간다.

 

One thought on “Philadelphia

Leave a comment